Management Team
Shareholder Institutions
Board of Directors

A talented and diverse team helps the Science Center advance its goals.

Stephen S. Tang
Stephen S. Tang, Ph.D., MBA
President and CEO

Steve Tang is the first president in the Science Center's history to have not only led a company through venture funding and an initial public offering, but to also serve as a senior executive with a large life sciences company as it acquired and integrated smaller companies.

In September 2016, Steve was re-appointed to the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (NACIE) and serves as NACIE co-chair. NACIE members offer recommendations to the U.S. Secretary of Commerce for policies and programs designed to make U.S. communities, businesses, and the workforce more globally competitive.

Dr. Tang also serves on several statewide, regional and local Boards of Directors. Along with Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf, he co-chairs the Team Pennsylvania Foundation. He is also Chairman of the Board of Directors of OraSure Technologies Inc. (NASDAQ: OSUR).

Curt Hess
Curt Hess
Senior Vice President of Real Estate Operations

Curt Hess is responsible for the management, leasing and development of more than 1.5 million square feet of office and lab space across the Science Center's 17-acre legacy campus. Curt also leads the Science Center's efforts in the development of uCity Square and the additional 4 million square feet of office, lab, residential and retail that is underway. Curt serves on the boards of International House Philadelphia and University City District.

Saul A. Behar
Saul A. Behar
Vice President and General Counsel

Saul Behar supervises all legal and corporate governance matters, and has responsibility for government relations at the federal, state and city levels. This work includes advocacy and representation, policy development, and the solicitation of public sector grants. In addition, Saul oversees the team that conceived and operates FirstHand, the Science Center's STEAM education initiative. Saul serves on the boards of Reinvestment Fund, the Philadelphia Alliance for Capital and Technologies, and The Village of Arts and Humanities.

Rachel Cervantes
Rachel Cervantes, Ph.D.
Vice President, Corporate Development

Rachel Cervantes is responsible for providing strategic direction and leadership to all aspects of the corporate development and advancement programs. In this role, Rachel is designing and implementing an effective program that yields new private-sector relationships and revenue sources for the Science Center, while cultivating relationships with existing donors and key stakeholders. Rachel earned an MBA from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania, a Ph.D. in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the University of Cincinnati, and a BA from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. She serves on the Wharton Alumni Executive Board and is a member of the Trustees' Council Leadership of Penn Women.

Christopher J. Laing
Christopher J. Laing, MRCVS, Ph.D.
Vice President, Science and Technology

Chris Laing oversees the Science Center's programs for commercialization, startup investment and business incubation. Since 2009, participants of these programs, which include QED, Phase 1 Ventures, the Digital Health Accelerator, the Port business incubators and ic@3401, have collectively raised hundreds of millions in venture financing. Chris also facilitates access by program participants to Greater Philadelphia's academic and clinical communities through the Science Center's Scientific Advisory Committee. Chris is a member of the Board of Visitors for Mayes College, University of the Sciences, and serves on the Board of Directors of the South Jersey Technology Park. He became an Eisenhower Fellow in 2015.

Lorraine G. LoPresti
Lorraine G. LoPresti
Vice President, Finance & Administration

Lorraine LoPresti is responsible for the overall fiscal and risk management of the Science Center, providing financial oversight of the corporate, real estate, treasury, programs and budget activities. She also has oversight of the Science Center's HR and IT functions. Lorraine serves on the Board of Directors for the Economy League of Greater Philadelphia.

Jeanne Mell
Jeanne Mell
Vice President, Marketing Communications & Community Engagement

Jeanne Mell is responsible for all aspects of corporate marketing, communications, public and media relations and community engagement. Jeanne oversees Quorum, the entrepreneurs' clubhouse and the Microsoft Reactor. Jeanne chairs the Board of Campus Philly and is Vice President of the Association of University Research Parks. She also serves on the Board of Directors for the Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau (PHL CVB).


  • Dario C. Altieri, M.D.

    The Wistar Institute

    Chairman, Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Maxine Ballen

    Science Center Director Emerita

  • Kerry R. Benson

    The PFM Group

  • M. Brian Blake, Ph.D.

    Drexel University

  • Kenneth J. Blank, Ph.D.

    Rowan University

    Board Vice Chairman

  • Dawn A. Bonnell, Ph.D.

    University of Pennsylvania

  • Craig R. Carnaroli

    University of Pennsylvania

    Board Chairman
    Chairman, Executive Committee

  • Christopher M. Cashman

    Marinus Pharmaceuticals

  • Ernest J. Dianastasis

    The Precisionists, Inc.
    First State Innovation

  • Michael A. DiPiano

    NewSpring Capital

    Board Vice Chairman

  • Glen N. Gaulton, Ph.D.

    Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
    Science Center Director Emeritus

  • Jane H. Hollingsworth

    Militia Hill Ventures

    Chairwoman, Community Engagement Committee

  • David P. Holveck

    Science Center Director Emeritus

  • Osagie O. Imasogie

    Phoenix IP Ventures

  • Richard P. Jaffe, Esquire

    Duane Morris LLP
    Science Center Director Emeritus

  • J. Larry Jameson, M.D., Ph.D.

    Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
    University of Pennsylvania Health System

  • Russel E. Kaufman, M.D.

    Pappas Capital
    Science Center Director Emeritus

  • David R. King

    Atonarp, Inc.

    Chairman, Development Committee

  • Stephen K. Klasko, M.D., MBA

    Thomas Jefferson University and Jefferson Health System

  • Carl Kopfinger

    TD Bank

    Chairman, Asset Management Committee

  • Kenneth L. Kring

    Korn/Ferry International
    Science Center Director Emeritus

  • Keith Leaphart, D.O., MBA

    Replica Global, LLC

  • William J. Marrazzo

    WHYY, Inc.

  • Michele Masucci, Ph.D.

    Temple University

  • Jeremy Nowak

    J Nowak Strategy

  • Keith A. Orris

    Drexel University

  • Kathleen M. Shay, Esquire

    Duane Morris LLP

    Chairwoman, Corporate Governance and Nominating Committee

  • Stephen Spinelli, Jr., Ph.D.

    Philadelphia University

  • Thomas J. Todorow

    The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

  • Richard Vague

    Gabriel Investments

  • Tara L. Weiner

    Science Center Director

    Chairwoman, Audit Committee

  • Stephen T. Zarrilli

    Safeguard Scientifics

  • Stephen S. Tang, Ph.D., MBA

    University City Science Center

Our progress relies on a stable financial foundation.
Meet the generous donors and supporters who make our work possible.
Incubator Residents
These startups are inventing the future.